top of page

Ting Elected to National Academy of Sciences 

Jenny Ting, PhD, in the UNC Department of Genetics, was among the 120 scientists elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences.

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 120 members and 30 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Jenny Ting, PhD, the William Kenan Distinguished Professor of Genetics and professor microbiology and immunology, was elected for her career and accomplishments dedicated to research related to human innate immune responses, neuroinflammation, the microbiome, multiple sclerosis, cancer, biologic therapy, and infections. She is a member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, director of the Center for Translational Immunology, and co-director of the Inflammatory Diseases Institute.

Those elected in 2022 bring the total number of active members to 2,512 and the total number of international members to 517. Read the NAS announcement here.

UNC Lineberger faculty named world's most highly cited researchers  Article republished from UNC Lineberger: Lineup newsletter

First row, from left: Ralph Baric, PhD; Noel Brewer, PhD; Gianpietro Dotti, PhD; and Katherine Hoadley, PhD.
Second row: Leaf Huang, PhD; Charles Perou, PhD; Barry Popkin, PhD, MS; and Scott Randell, PhD.
Third row: Bryan Roth, MD, PhD; Barbara Savoldo, MD, PhD; Jenny Ting, PhD; and David van Duin, MD, PhD.

Twelve UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center members were named to Clarivate’s 2023 Highly Cited Researchers™ list, which recognized scientists from 67 countries and regions who published papers that ranked in the top 1% of cited publications in their field between 2012-2022.

Among institutions with the most highly cited researchers, UNC-Chapel Hill, with 41 faculty named to the list, ranked 24th overall.

The Highly Cited Researcher list consists of 7,125 scientists and social scientists from 21 scientific fields who have demonstrated significant influence through publication of multiple highly cited papers. This year’s analysis included more than 188,500 cited papers.

UNC Lineberger members named to the 2023 Highly Cited Researchers list included:

  • Ralph Baric, PhD

  • Noel T. Brewer, PhD

  • Gianpietro Dotti, PhD

  • Katherine A. Hoadley, PhD

  • Leaf Huang, PhD

  • Charles M. Perou, PhD

  • Barry M. Popkin, PhD, MS

  • Scott Randell, PhD

  • Bryan L. Roth, MD, PhD

  • Barbara Savoldo, MD, PhD

  • Jenny P.Y. Ting, PhD

  • David van Duin, MD, PhD

Dr. Jenny Ting Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Jenny Ting, PhD, in the UNC Department of Genetics, was among the 120 scientists elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences.

Congratulations to Dr. Sirui Li!

Congratulations to Dr. Sirui Li for receiving the 2023 UNC Lineberger Joseph S. Pagano Award!

Dr. Jenny Ting Named 2023 AAI Distinguished Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. Jenny Ting who was inducted into the 2023 class of Distinguished Fellows of the American Association of Immunologists at the annual meeting in May 2023. 

bottom of page